Core Faculty


Ardith Doorenbos, PhD, RN, FAAN is Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Nursing & Health Systems, School of Nursing and Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, School of Medicine. She also is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Global Health, School of Public Health at the University of Washington. She is the co-director of research operations of the Cambia Palliative Care Center of Excellence. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nurses (AAN) and is the lead co-chair of the AAN palliative and end-of-life care expert panel. Dr. Doorenbos’ research is centered on palliative care, pain and symptom management. Her grant portfolio is funded by the National Institute of Health: National Institute of Nursing Research and National Cancer Institute and other professional sources.


Caroline Hurd, MD is a UW Clinical Assistant Professor of Palliative Care and Internal Medicine at the University of Washington in the Department of Medicine, Division of Gerontology and Geriatrics.  She earned her medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco and completed Internal Medicine residency and Palliative Medicine Fellowship at the University of Washington.  Dr. Hurd is the Chair of the Education Operations for the UW Cambia Palliative Care Center of Excellence, Site Director for the UW Palliative Medicine fellowship at Harborview Medical Center and an attending physician at Harborview and the University of Washington Medical Center.


Helene Starks, PhD, MPH is an Associate Professor in Bioethics & Humanities in the School of Medicine and Director of the Metrics, Quality & Evaluation core of the Cambia Palliative Care Center of Excellence. She is trained in communication (BA), and health services research (MPH, PhD). Her research and expertise focus on advance care planning, patient and family outcomes, and measuring the impact of palliative care programs for patients, families, clinicians and health care systems.

Expert Faculty

Anne Anderson, RN

Tonda Anderson, PA-C

Anthony Back, MD

J. Randall Curtis, MD, MPH

Jim Fausto, MD

Sharmon Figenshaw, ARNP, ACHPN

Carol Kummet, LICSW, MTS

Taryn Lindhorst, PhD, LCSW

Lu Marchand, MD, BSN, FAAHPM

Susan Merel, MD

Blair Mills, MHA

Grady Paden, MD

Elizabeth Perry, MSW

Rain Sauer, MDiv, BCC

Kathryn Schlenker, DO

Bruce Smith, MD

Joan M. Teno, MD, MS

Patsy Treece, RN

Jody Waldron, MD


May 1, 2018

admission deadline for September 2018 admission

Workshop dates for 2017-2018

October: 19-21
January 25-27
May 17-19

Untitled Document